Walking In Memphis

It’s Thursday, the week is winding down and I’m on a mad hunt for a weekend project. I really want to sew something but I think softies are a little complicated for me right now and I want something a little more useful than a pillow. I want something I can show off!

Mad Maloney and I are heading out on our annual trek to Graceland next week and we will be spending four fun-filled days walking around Memphis so a tote bag of some sort seems to be a good choice. That way I have something to store all my Elvis trinkets in. On a side note, I am almost finished reading Priscilla Presley’s book, Elvis & Me, and I am learning just how odd of a guy Elvis really was. One of the thing she notes is that when he was filming Harum Scarum, he liked the makeup and costume he was wearing so much that Elvis would normally eat dinner wearing his brown face makeup and turban. Weird, right?

Okay, on to the tote bag project. I have narrowed it down to two bags and I’m studying the instructions to see which will be the most painless. I love this Charlie Bag, it’s hip and oh so cute, but it has darts and I’ve never sewn them before, plus I need to figure out the math so I could buy the right fabric. I also really love this Market Bag. Also very cute, and I’d work with something called interfacing.

Regardless, both similar in style. I’ll decide based on what directions are clearest. I’m hoping I can find some fun fabric that is either music related or vacation. The tackier the better I think. I’ll be limited to what I find in Hancock or Hobby Lobby. Stay tuned. I’m sure you’ll see something Monday morning, Win or LOSE!

2 Comments to “Walking In Memphis”

  1. I love the market bag!! I can’t wait to see your finished product. I worked with a lady who made these amazing bags and was also aggressively hinting that I wanted one (she said she wouldn’t make them for profit, which just seems silly to me but whatever). Alas, I never got one.

    Point is, if this works for you, I just may be hinting around to you. 🙂

  2. oh you are the best! If it comes out right, I’ll make you one 🙂 thanks so much for following me

Leave a Reply

