A Woman Is A Woman (with a new bag!)

So it pains me to tell you that my latest sewing adventure definitely gets a passing grade. Sewing enthusiasts may think otherwise but then I’ll send them over to Burdastyle if they are interested in properly executed projects.

Saturday morning I set out to start my first real sewing project: the super cute reversible hobo bag from verypurpleperson, called the Charlie Bag. I decided to visit my local Hancock Fabrics to survey the goods. I love watching Project Runway and I thought it would be fun if I only gave myself 30 minutes to find my two fabric choices. That is so hard when you have no idea what you are looking for. I stared at the wall of cotton fabrics for a half hour before I even touched anything. I pulled out at least 10 different combinations before I finally decided on a red Hawaiian pattern and a flowery yellow pattern. It’s fair at best. The fabric cost a total of $12 so I figured when I mess up, it wouldn’t have cost me too much.

I printed out the pattern and instructions and got to work. One of my favorite French New Wave films, Une Femme est Une Femme (A Woman Is a Woman), played in the background as I began cutting the fabric.


I think I cut for what seemed like hours but alas I had all the pieces ready to be sewn. I had never sewn darts before and I sure am glad I took the time to find a video tutorial because darts meant something different to me than it does in the sewing world. Had I not, this project would have been sent straight to the mother of all fail blogs, Craft Fail. Needless to say, the darts were a small victory. I got through the sewing portion pretty easily but when I had completely finished sewing up the straps, I realized that I had sewn them wrong. Maybe it doesn’t look too bad but the seam is running down the middle. You’ll also notice that the straps are all different thicknesses but I never said I was perfect!

I did take the time to rip out the seams and resew the straps correctly and VOILA! I got a bag:


Yes it’s so cute! Yes it has plenty of problems. I had no idea how to hide the fraying fabric edges but I don’t care. Some people are perfectionists, I am not one of those people. I like to see, “the hand of the artist”, in my work and it shows all over! I”ll be walking in Memphis, walking with my feet ten feet off of Beale!

3 Comments to “A Woman Is A Woman (with a new bag!)”

  1. Its adorable!!! And I love the print.

  2. Great bag – you did a fantastic job! Not bad for $12 hey!! I found you through the Burda forum!

    Good for you using your bag with pride! So you should!!

    Jill @ Creating my way to Success
    http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

