It’s My Pajama Party and I’ll Cry If I Want To!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I’m not trying to fail, I just get confused sometimes. Today’s project is another fine example why this blog exists. I didn’t just fail at my first attempt at a wearable EASY pair of pajama pants, I lost control, hit rock bottom, flopped, missed the boat and the pajama party I was hoping to have wearing my new drawstring pants!

It all started because I got too excited with the success of my reversible bag. I figured I had the hang of this sewing thing and I want to keep pushing myself a little further with each new project. I found a great FREE pattern on the Simplicity website for drawstring pajama pants. I had flashbacks of the sewing class I took back in the summer of 1986 when I attempted to sew a similar pair of pants. I failed those with flying colors, but I was also 8! I’ve learned to follow directions since then and there’s no way I could fail again. I set out to my local Hancock fabrics with seersucker in mind and this is what I found:

It’s a bit more madras print then seersucker, but I thought it was cute and summery, plus anything will be an upgrade from MadMaloney’s flannel plaid pants that I’ve swiped. I also realized once I washed the fabric that it has quite a bit of stretch to it. That should have been my first sign to run, but I have been determined for the last few weeks to make these pants. Now for the pattern. The beauty of this pattern was that it was free, the ugly of this pattern was that I had to print out 25 pages from my printer and then piece the thing together, but I guess that’s what I get for being a cheapskate.

So I taped and I taped and pulled it apart and put it back together  and then I taped some more. And then I had a cocktail and I think that made the process a lot more enjoyable.

And yes, I couldn’t find regular scotch tape but I think the blue painters tape worked just fine. What do you expect? I’m a mess! I decided I had done enough for one evening so I put it to bed so I could be fresh and sober when I started cutting the pattern. In retrospect, sober is irrelevant when it comes to me and sewing crafting.

I spent all of Friday evening spread out across my bedroom floor cutting out the pattern. MadMaloney was out for the evening meeting with a client on a new skull ring. His jewelry skills are insane. I am coming to the realization that there may not be enough room for two talented folks in our household, but he wasn’t home so I figured I was queen of that throne for the evening! Honestly, the cutting went pretty well, even if I disregarded the fact that those notches they tell you to cut out should really line up.

Everything is sort of nicely cut, and then came the buttonhole. Figuring out how to attach the buttonhole foot wasn’t as painful as I thought but trying to sew the hole was a nightmare. I think I may have spent 2-3 hours practicing on scrap fabrics until I finally threw in the madras fabric and decided “MY PANTS ARE NOT GOING TO HAVE A DRAWSTRING” I am only sleeping in them, I don’t care! On to the sewing. I can sew a straight line. Whoo hoo, I’m home free. And then this happened:

I sewed the crotch right up to the waistline and learned that if you don’t line up the notches then you might be exposing yourself. Once again, F for failure, F for flop, F for EFF THIS! I am feeling a little defeated today but after some unsuccessful reflection on what went wrong, I’ve decided maybe a shirt would be easier!

I’ll leave you with this. It’s My Party and I’ll cry if I want to, you would cry too if it happened to you. Who needs pajama pants anyway?

Leave a Reply

